Science

The creation of knowledge and understanding through the natural, human and social sciences enables solutions to be found to today’s economic, social and environmental challenges, thereby encouraging sustainable development and eco-friendly societies. Given that no country in the world can achieve sustainable development on its own, scientific cooperation at the international level contributes not only to scientific knowledge but also to the building of peace between countries.

UNESCO helps countries to invest in science, technology and innovation (STI), to formulate national scientific policies, to reform their scientific systems and to reinforce their capacity to follow up and evaluate performance, using STI indicators and statistics that take into account the great diversity of contexts specific to each country.

The teaching of sciences and engineering at all levels as well as research facilities need to be consolidated in order to allow every country to develop solutions adapted to their own specific problems and thus help them play their part in the international field of science and technology.

Creating links between both natural and social sciences and society, helping citizens to a better understanding of science and thus encouraging their participation in this field, has proved essential to building societies where people have the knowledge needed to make informed choices at the professional, personal and political levels, and to take part in the exciting world of discovery. Traditional knowledge systems, developed through long and close interaction with nature, complete the knowledge systems based on modern science.

UNESCO’s scientific policy is basically implemented by its international programmes:

 

Last update

Sciences

La création du savoir et de la compréhension à travers les sciences naturelles, humaines et sociales permet de trouver des solutions aux défis économiques, sociaux et environnementaux d'aujourd'hui et de favoriser ainsi le développement durable et les sociétés vertes. Étant donné qu’aucun pays au monde ne peut parvenir seul à un développement durable, la coopération scientifique internationale contribue non seulement à la connaissance scientifique mais aussi à la construction de la paix entre les pays.

L'UNESCO aide les pays à investir dans la science, la technologie et l'innovation (STI), à élaborer des politiques scientifiques nationales, à réformer leurs systèmes scientifiques et à renforcer leurs capacités de suivi et d'évaluation des performances grâce à des indicateurs STI et des statistiques qui tiennent compte de la grande diversité des différents contextes spécifiques à chaque pays.

L’enseignement des sciences et de l'ingénierie à tous les niveaux et les capacités en termes de recherche doivent être consolidés afin de permettre à chaque pays de développer des solutions adaptées à ses propres problèmes et les aider ainsi à jouer leur rôle dans le domaine scientifique et technologique international.

Relier la science tant naturelle que sociale à la société, aider les citoyens à mieux comprendre la science et ainsi favoriser leur participation dans ce domaine se révèle essentiel pour bâtir des sociétés où les gens ont les connaissances nécessaires pour faire des choix professionnels, personnels et politiques pertinents et participer au monde passionnant de la découverte. Les systèmes de connaissances indigènes développés à travers une interaction longue et étroite avec la nature, complètent les systèmes de connaissances fondées sur la science moderne.

La politique scientifique de l’UNESCO est essentiellement mise en œuvre par le biais de ses programmes internationaux:

 

Dernière mise à jour