Education

Education transforms lives and lies at the heart of UNESCO's mission, which includes building peace, eradicating poverty and driving sustainable development.

UNESCO believes education is a human right for all, throughout life, and that access to education must be matched by quality. UNESCO acts as a global and regional leader in the field of education, works to reinforce education systems worldwide and responds to today’s global challenges through education, with gender equality as the fundamental principle.

Its work includes the development of education, from pre-school to higher education and beyond. Subjects include global citizenship and sustainable development, human rights and gender equality, health and HIV/AIDS, as well as the promotion of technical and vocational skills.

Services offered by UNESCO

  • Legal advice and technical assistance on the formulation and implementation of policy

  • Advocacy and mobilization (donations and international cooperation)

  • Follow-up (Global annual report in accordance with the new global agenda)

UNESCO also offers support in other important fields, such as the promotion of literacy, higher education, the development of teachers’ training, the improvement of vocational training and the fostering of innovative apprenticeships.

Last update

Education

L'éducation transforme les vies et elle est au cœur de la mission de l’UNESCO qui est de bâtir la paix, éradiquer la pauvreté et promouvoir le développement durable.

L'UNESCO considère que l'éducation est un droit humain pour tous, tout au long de la vie, et que l'accès à l’éducation va de pair avec la qualité. L'UNESCO agit comme chef de file mondial et régional en matière d’éducation, œuvre à renforcer les systèmes éducatifs partout dans le monde et relève les défis planétaires contemporains par l'éducation avec l'égalité des sexes comme principe fondamental.

Son action porte sur le développement de l’éducation du préscolaire à l'enseignement supérieur et au-delà. Les thématiques incluent la citoyenneté mondiale et le développement durable, les droits humains et l'égalité des sexes, la santé et le VIH/SIDA, ainsi que le développement des compétences techniques et professionnelles.

Services proposés par l’UNESCO

  • Conseil et assistance technique pour l’élaboration des politiques (juridique et diffusion)
  • Plaidoyer et mobilisation (donations et coopération internationale)
  • Suivi (Rapport mondial annuel en accordance avec le nouvel agenda mondial)

L’UNESCO soutient d’autres domaines importants tels que le renforcement de l’alphabétisation, l'enseignement supérieur, l'amélioration du développement des enseignants, l'amélioration de l'apprentissage et le développement de possibilités d'apprentissage innovantes.

Dernière mise à jour