Culture

UNESCO is convinced that no development can be sustainable without a strong cultural component. Indeed, only an approach to development, focused on the human and based on mutual respect and open-minded dialogue between cultures, can lead to sustainable, inclusive and equitable results.

In order to insure that strategies and plans for development take account of culture, an approach in three parts is necessary: UNESCO is the leading advocate for the promotion of culture and development throughout the world, while committing itself to formulating clear policies and legal frameworks with the international community, and working at grass-roots level to assist governments and local actors in the field concerned with safeguarding heritage, promoting creative industries and encouraging cultural pluralism.

UNESCO’s well-known cultural conventions form a unique global platform for international cooperation and establish a complete plan for cultural governance based on human rights and shared values. These international treaties are designed to protect and safeguard the world’s cultural and natural heritage, including archeological sites, underwater cultural heritage, museum collections, intangible heritage such as oral traditions and other forms of heritage, while at the same time encouraging creativity, innovation and the emergence of dynamic areas of culture.  

 

Last update

Culture

L'UNESCO est persuadé  qu'aucun développement ne peut être durable sans une composante culturelle forte. En effet, seule une approche du développement centrée sur l’humain et fondée sur le respect mutuel et le dialogue ouvert entre les cultures peut conduire à des résultats durables, inclusifs et équitables.

Afin de s’assurer que les stratégies et les plans  de développement intègrent la culture, une approche en trois volets a été adoptée : l’UNESCO est le fer de lance d’un plaidoyer en faveur de la culture et du développement dans le monde entier, tout en s'engageant à instaurer des politiques et des cadres juridiques clairs avec la communauté internationale et à travailler sur le terrain afin d’aider les gouvernements et les acteurs locaux concernés à sauvegarder le patrimoine, à renforcer les industries créatives et à encourager le pluralisme culturel.

Les conventions culturelles réputées  de l’UNESCO constituent une plate-forme mondiale unique pour la coopération internationale et établissent un dispositif de gouvernance culturelle complet, fondé sur les droits de l'homme et les valeurs partagées. Ces traités internationaux s'efforcent de protéger et de sauvegarder le patrimoine culturel et naturel du monde, dont  les sites archéologiques, le patrimoine subaquatique, les collections des musées, le patrimoine immatériel comme les traditions orales et d’autres formes de patrimoine tout en soutenant la créativité, l'innovation et l'émergence de secteurs culturels dynamiques.  

Dernière mise à jour