Intangible Heritage

Intangible cultural heritage includes traditions or living expressions inherited from our ancestors  and passed on to our descendants. This heritage includes oral traditions, the performing arts, social customs, rituals and festive events, knowledge and practices related to nature and the universe, or the knowledge and know-how of traditional handicrafts. Intangible cultural heritage as such can only be recognized by the communities, groups or individuals who create, maintain and pass it on.

Intangible cultural heritage is at once traditional, contemporary and dynamic. Since it also includes the rural and urban practices of today. It evolves because it is rooted in communities, and it depends on those whose knowledge of traditions, skills and customs is passed on from generation to generation or to other communities.

Whilst it is fragile, intangible cultural heritage is an important factor in maintaining cultural diversity in the face of growing globalization. Having an understanding of the intangible cultural heritage of different communities is indispensable to intercultural dialogue, and encourages respect for other ways of living. 

The Hopping Procession of Echternach

The Hopping Procession of Echternach takes place every Whit Tuesday as a tribute to the Irish monk Willibrord (658-739) who was the founder of the Abbey of Echternach. The origin of the Hopping Procession, considered by some to date back to the Middle Ages, remains unclear. According to the legend, Guy (Latin Vitus; German Veit) was under sentence of death and asked to play a tune on his violin before being hanged. His melody so bewitched the onlookers that they began to dance and could not stop even when they sank into the ground. The violinist managed to escape, and only thanks to Willibrord could the spell be broken. Willibrord was then worshipped as the healer of the nervous disease called “St Vitus’ Dance”.

The pilgrims line up in rows of 5 or 6, joined by the handkerchiefs they hold, folded in triangles. They move forward with hopping steps to the rhythm of the brass bands playing the popular melody « Adam had seven sons ». The procession leads them through the alleys of Echternach till they reach the tomb of Willibrord in the crypt of the basilica. Every year, this tradition attracts thousands of pilgrims and spectators.

On 16th November 2010, UNESCO’s intergovernmental Committee for the safeguarding of the intangible cultural heritage voted unanimously to place the Hopping Procession of Echternach on the list representing the intangible cultural heritage of humanity.

Last update

Patrimoine immatériel

Le patrimoine culturel immatériel comprend les traditions ou les expressions vivantes héritées de nos ancêtres et transmises à nos descendants. Parmi ce patrimoine figurent les traditions orales, les arts du spectacle, les pratiques sociales, rituels et événements festifs, les connaissances et pratiques concernant la nature et l’univers ou les connaissances et le savoir-faire de l’artisanat traditionnel. Le patrimoine culturel immatériel ne peut être patrimoine que lorsqu’il est reconnu comme tel par les communautés, groupes et individus qui le créent, l’entretiennent et le transmettent.

Le patrimoine culturel immatériel est à la fois traditionnel, contemporain et vivant, comme il comprend aussi des pratiques rurales et urbaines de nos jours. Il se développe à partir de son enracinement dans les communautés et dépend de ceux dont la connaissance des traditions, des savoir-faire et des coutumes transmis de génération en génération ou à d’autres communautés.

Bien que fragile, le patrimoine culturel immatériel est un facteur important du maintien de la diversité culturelle face à la mondialisation croissante. Avoir une idée du patrimoine culturel immatériel de différentes communautés est indispensable au dialogue interculturel et encourage le respect d’autres modes de vie.

La procession dansante d’Echternach

La procession dansante d’Echternach a lieu tous les ans le mardi de Pentecôte en hommage au  moine irlandais Willibrord (658-739), fondateur de l’Abbaye d’Echternach. L’origine de ce cortège dansant qui remonte pour certains au Moyen-Âge n’est pas claire. Selon la légende, Guy (en allemand Veit), condamné à mort, demande à jouer une mélodie sur son violon avant d’être pendu. Sa mélodie est si envoutante que le public commence à danser sans pouvoir s’arrêter et même jusqu’à s’enfoncer dans le sol. Le violoniste réussit à s’échapper et ce n’est que grâce à Willibrord que le sort a pu être brisé. Ainsi, Willibrord est bientôt vénéré comme guérisseur de la maladie nerveuse dite « maladie de Saint Guy ».

Les pèlerins s’alignent en rang de 5 ou 6 personnes et, liés par des mouchoirs pliés en triangle,  avancent en sautillant, au rythme des fanfares qui jouent la mélodie populaire de « Adam avait sept fils ». La procession les conduit à travers les ruelles d’Echternach jusque devant la tombe de Willibrord dans la crypte de la basilique. Chaque année, cette tradition attire des milliers de pèlerins et de spectateurs.

Le 16 novembre 2010, le Comité intergouvernemental de sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’UNESCO a décidé à l’unanimité d’inscrire la procession dansante d’Echternach sur la liste représentative du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'humanité.

Dernière mise à jour